Beer Review: Victory Golden Monkey

I’m gonna get this out of the way first, this beer is my overall favorite beer. I underline my and overall because this is my opinion and because it is my favorite when all aspects of beer are considered. I’ll go into more detail on this in a bit, just wanted to let people know where I stand on this beer and where this review is headed.

Respect the Monkey

Brewery: Victory Brewing Co.
Beer: Golden Monkey
Style: Belgian Tripel
Alcohol by Volume: 9.5%
Ingredients: 2-row pale malt, European whole flowers, imported Belgian yeast

Great dirty gold color with a slight bit of white head that goes away fast. It almost seems to glow when held up to the light.

The smell isn’t that powerful but has a nice subtle presence of floral hops and bready malt. I can’t get quite enough of the hops aroma to really pick out what flavors are going on there.

It hits my tongue with a touch of spice and pineapple hop flavors. There is a nice malt profile of bread and hint of caramel that mixes in with a honey like sugary sweetness.

Ultra smooth and creamy mouth feel with a medium body and a very warming alcohol presence.

As I started off with saying, this beer is my overall favorite beer and here’s why:

  • Quality – See my reviewing notes above for this and add in the consistency of this beer over the 6+ years I’ve been drinking it.
  • Price & Availability: $10 a 6-pack available at all better beer stores in the area plus many Kroger’s and various convenience stores around the area
  • Strength: 9.5% in a 12-oz bottle of easy drinking booze is a straight ass kicker.
  • Style: Belgian styles are by far my favorite style, this isn’t the best Belgian by any means at all, but it’s the most affordable and is damn good!
  • Experience/history: This was my second Belgian and third “craft” beer. I started drinking it before I really enjoyed good beer like I do now. Back then I was drinking to get drunk, this beer definitely got me drunk plus it tasted great.
  • All that and a bad ass logo! I usually don’t get into beer logos that much but I just love the gold Buddhist monkey statue with the crazy eye in it’s belly. Plus you get that whole monk/ey thing which gives you something to ponder when you’re wasted on 3 or 4 of these.

Now I want to level with everyone. This beer is not the best of anything at all. There are FAR better Belgian ales, disturbingly cheaper beers (craft & otherwise) and while it is on the high side of average strength it’s still only half of a Dogfish Head 120 Minute IPA.

With all that said if you haven’t had one of these yet go out there and get a 6-pack. I have yet to meet anyone who was disappointed by and didn’t have a good time with the monkey!

3 Comments

Filed under Beer, Reviews

3 responses to “Beer Review: Victory Golden Monkey

  1. have you tried Victories IPA? it is not as hoppy as the dogfishhead but it is very smooth and still hoppy.

  2. Pingback: Beer Review: Victory HopDevil | Queen City Drinks

  3. Pingback: Beer Review: Victory Silverback | Queen City Drinks

Leave a Reply

